D20…

I’m taking a break from working on my latest novel to work on a setting for Monte Cook’s Arcana Unearthed using a bunch of D&D sourcebooks. The goal? I don’t know, but I did just watch Star Wars The Empire Strikes Back last night and now I want to do something like that for a fantasy setting.

I know, I know, Star Wars is pretty much fantasy anyway. The main difference from the sort of setting I usually make in settings is the battle between good and evil that is at the heart of Star Wars. I’m not sure if I even want that. I just like the feel of those movies, and the fact that everything looks used.

Anyway, the setting I’m working on is mostly based on an arid continent with huge vines that run through the earth and rifts from which hot air blows up to support gliders. I just have the creature list at the moment, but it looks good.

So, why a D20 game? I mean, I usually run Mutants and Masterminds, which is similar enough. Two words: Hit Points.

I like hp a lot as it makes the setting feel more gamey, which is something I want in an rpg. I want to be able to wittle creatures down, to know when the risk is running. Anyway, I probably won’t run this setting for a long time if ever, so I’m mostly just doing this to procrastinate. The book is wonderful, but I’m tired.

Leave a Reply

