Finally getting worldbuilding stuff out there…

So I wrote a 700 word overview of a planet it broad terms today. I had fun. It wasn’t the sort of writing I’d show to others, but I had fun. So here’s a few things I’ve learned about writing lately.

1. I devour writing advice. I listen to podcasts, read blogs, read books, analyze the entrails of chickens… I love doing it (except when chickens are involved). The downside is I get deadened to the ideas. I usually listen to music when writing. Lesson: More music, less writing advice.

2. Worldbuilding is more useful to me when written out in paragraph form. I like bullet-points and systems and lists, but they aren’t good for breaking ideas out into COMPELLING parts. They break them DOWN into simpler parts.

3. I haven’t gotten that much slower as a writer since I started leaping ahead in quality. I simply think more. That means more outlining may be necessary.

4. The spreadsheet works for my outline. I think I’ll stick with these over mindmapping tools like Freemind. Fooling around with that software is too much trouble at the moment.

5. I want to write longer stuff/sequels. I feel ready, and I’ve had a lot of practice with the smaller novels.

6. I still need to work on short stories. Compressing story information is a good thing, a powerful tool to have. I greatly wish to master it.

7. Writing can be a joy, but I don’t necessarily want to jump on the difficult parts all the time. Removing pressure and being confident improves quality 9 times out of 10.

As with all writing advice, these are true for me. Make use of them at your own risk.

Leave a Reply

