Mistborn: The Hero of Ages Review

I finished reading the final book of the Mistborn trilogy a few weeks ago, but it took me a while to find the time to review it. Short and sweet: I liked it.

A bit more elaborately, I’d say I liked the overall story less than I liked any of the set-piece moments, the iconic moments of this book. Even so the ending, which I won’t spoil here, worked very well for me. Despite that it made me uncomfortable and a bit sad, which is as it should be at the end of epic fantasy, I think.

When one starts with a world as profoundly messed up as the one in Mistborn it feels miraculous that things turn around. The moment this was accomplished in Mistborn 3 was one of the best moments of realization in the whole series for me. You’ll know what I’m talking about should you this story.

And I loved, LOVED, the descriptions and explanations of all the creatures (inquisitors, Koloss, and most notably Kandra) in this series. A very strong ending for a dark series overall. Keep up the good work Mister Sanderson!

Leave a Reply

