Day 43 and the dangers of being a critic

I am pretty satisfied with how February came out. I wrote around 35,000-40,000 words, and though I didn’t finish reading any novels I learned a lot from the portions I did read.

At this point I should probably inform you, I have trouble finishing books despite reading fairly quickly. Largely this is because I can’t help but be distracted by other books. I may start applying my writing focus technique to reading to get more stuff read in the future.

Anyway, I have written at least 250 words (usually more) a day for a recorded 42 days at this point. Today will be day 43 on this count.

Yesterday I read another blog that shall remain unnamed as I’m not out to pick a fight. It’s awkward trying to write this out properly, because I don’t THINK I’m anti women’s rights. Basically this blog I read was a critical blog with a feminist bent. The issue I had with the posts I read was that, like many critical blogs, the author stooped to name-calling pretty quickly.

Allow me to assert my stance: If one shouts profanity at someone in an argument one has lost the argument.

Now, this blogger did not use profanity THAT much in the reviews themselves, but she still gave me such an impression of rage I was uncomfortable. On its own discomfort is great to get from writing, at least in my opinion. The author’s attitude seemed racist–against white people, but still. If one does not condone disregarding people based on skin color or gender or anything then how can one turn around and frequently display dismissive rage toward people based on THEIR skin color?

Everyone has their own hypocrisies and blind spots. The problem is when one does not acknowledge those traits as an issue with one’s beliefs.

Finally, and most importantly, if the number of books this blogger has read and despised is any indication she is reading far too much stuff that she hates. I feel sorry for people like this who don’t seem to be able to enjoy anything because of their opinions.

All that said, I didn’t hate the writing on the blog. But at risk of using the overused Nietzsche line–Be careful lest you become a monster.

But yeah, I have writing to do. Today is day 43.
I am pretty satisfied with how February came out. I wrote around 35,000-40,000 words, and though I didn’t finish reading any novels I learned a lot from the portions I did read.

At this point I should probably inform you, I have trouble finishing books despite reading fairly quickly. Largely this is because I can’t help but be distracted by other books. I may start applying my writing focus technique to reading to get more stuff read in the future.

Anyway, I have written at least 250 words (usually more) a day for a recorded 42 days at this point. Today will be day 43 on this count.

Yesterday I read another blog that shall remain unnamed as I’m not out to pick a fight. It’s awkward trying to write this out properly, because I don’t THINK I’m anti women’s rights. Basically this blog I read was a critical blog with a feminist bent. The issue I had with the posts I read was that, like many critical blogs, the author stooped to name-calling pretty quickly.

Allow me to assert my stance: If one shouts profanity at someone in an argument one has lost the argument.

Now, this blogger did not use profanity THAT much in the reviews themselves, but she still gave me such an impression of rage I was uncomfortable. On its own discomfort is great to get from writing, at least in my opinion. The author’s attitude seemed racist–against white people, but still. If one does not condone disregarding people based on skin color or gender or anything then how can one turn around and frequently display dismissive rage toward people based on THEIR skin color?

Everyone has their own hypocrisies and blind spots. The problem is when one does not acknowledge those traits as an issue with one’s beliefs.

Finally, and most importantly, if the number of books this blogger has read and despised is any indication she is reading far too much stuff that she hates. I feel sorry for people like this who don’t seem to be able to enjoy anything because of their opinions.

All that said, I didn’t hate the writing on the blog. But at risk of using the overused Nietzsche line–Be careful lest you become a monster.

But yeah, I have writing to do. Today is day 43.

Leave a Reply

