Where have I been?

I have been freelancing! In fact, as of yesterday, I’ve just about wrapped up a month-long ghostwriting contract (the details of which I am obligated not to divulge). Now that I can dust off my hands from that project it’s back to my own work: editing the novel I wrote last winter, and writing on a few novellas. I also want to write some real short fiction sometime soon.

Honestly, ghostwriting is a pretty rough business. In the jobs I’ve done I sell ideas as well as words, and that is a sobering feeling, because those stories are lost to me for good (at least in that form). I’m not sure I can explain it very well; writing for other people without ever getting my name on the project is both liberating and a little sad. But hey, it’s what I chose to do, so I can’t complain too much.

I’m happy at the moment. Being free of the ghostwriting albatross is even more liberating than knowing no one will ever know I wrote the stories I did for that job. I got a lot of good process ideas out of it too.

Most important of these so far is the realization that I am a bit of a binge writer. I like to write a lot of words in a day and find it more satisfying than a more relaxing clip. How much is a lot? Four thousand or more words is plenty for me. As I may have mentioned before I once wrote 12,000 words in a day, but that was years ago, back when I was a freshman in college. I took a Saturday and saw how much I could do. Combined with discovering writing (only a light outline at most) this method the most fun I have when writing.

I’m feeling pretty good, getting more wargames minis together, and just keeping a positive attitude.

Also, reading Chuck Wendig’s novel Black Birds. This guy is an amazing writer. One day I hope to be as cool as him… either in blogging or in fiction, I’m not that greedy.

Leave a Reply

