Quitter

I used to be a big time quitter. And I still run into this kind of problem from time to time. I still give up easily on certain things in life, but that’s not the problem that got worse as I grew older. I guess the old saying “Quitters never win and winners never quit” still seems silly to me. My problem with the saying isn’t so much that I believe it is good to quit on things one believes in, but that it is worth it to abandon that which you do not believe in or support for some other legitimate reason.

An Aside:
I chose the word ‘believe’ quite deliberately in the paragraph above. Belief is sometimes sneered at because of the perceived conflict between belief and rationality. Regardless, I think it’s the best way to describe strong, not necessarily factually supported opinions of people.
…End Aside (FOR NOW, aha!)

Weakness begets more weakness. I don’t think that’s too bold a statement to apply to human personality.

So as a former big time quitter I have issues in my life that may have resulted from my earlier weakness. At the tippity top of the pyramid of bad news among these issues is the big daddy: the difficulty in starting new things–the bane of my current life.

I have had trouble starting new projects since I graduated, and more difficulty in maintaining my drive. As far as writing goes this might have something to do with my developing tendency to binge tons of words a few days of the week. But I had difficulty painting miniatures to completion, difficulty continuing stories I’ve started through the middle, and difficulty in brainstorming new ideas (comparatively at least). In any case, I think I’m beginning to get past this problem. I wish I knew how, but I can’t be certain.

I think I need time to think about it.

Leave a Reply

