New Year, Good Year

Happy New Year!

Now that I’ve got that taken care of, allow me to say that this year is already a good one.

I have been feeling better than I have in a long time. During December I started using David Burns’ excellent psychology help book, Feeling Good. I have to say, it has been the perfect solution to my malaise and general downerness. I don’t want to talk about the book right now, but I’ve dealt with depression and similar feelings pretty much for my whole life. I’m just beginning, but it feels amazing to be getting some of this under control.

I’ve been playing games online and on tables, spending time with my family, and enjoying life for a change. Enjoying things is of vital importance to me. I’m a weak person at heart and don’t usually have much stomach for unpleasantness.

I’ve been writing a new novel. It is, by far, the best one I’ve done yet. Mostly I think this is because I nailed down characters early and stopped worrying about prewriting the plotline altogether. A rant about ‘plot’ might be worthy of a post of its own.

I am also working on a series of stories to self-publish as ebooks. Look for more on that in the near future. I’m confident I’ve finally got things into place. Despite how off-base I felt my writing was even last year I think it’s time. This doesn’t mean I’m giving up on selling to the big five. It means I want to be a hybrid author publisher and traditional publisher.

It’s going to be a cold and busy month for me here in Minnesota. Good combination.

Leave a Reply

