Difficult Stories

The day is off to a good start. Already wrote a scene for the second book I’m working on. That went alright, but is not super good. Rough drafts, am I right folks?

Anyhow, I talked to a counselor who has been helping me with my motivation yesterday afternoon. So we talked about my writing process a bit.

I started with the feeling that I’m still struggling with writing enough. Yes, over five scenes got written this week, but they were all short and not much fun and I mostly only sat for 10-15 minutes at a time for each of session. This had left me feeling guilty at the slowness. When I ended up describing what I wrote the prior week (involving the death of a character I liked) the counselor and I hit on something at the same time.

I haven’t had a character die in my work in years. Yes, I wrote some freelance where characters died, but in the last novel I wrote it just wasn’t necessary. What do you know, I actually found something emotionally difficult in my own work.

When work isn’t flowing I worry I’m writing boring stuff. Emotional rigor is an important aspect of stories in my opinion, but I never considered that it might actually make the writing more difficult. Turns out, that makes perfect sense, especially for me. It seems so obvious in hindsight, and yet it cuts to the core of the problem.

The situation reminded me of some talks held on the Writing Excuses podcast where Dan Wells talked about his series starting with I Am Not A Serial Killer (Which I love). In a few of those, Wells discusses the way he felt writing scenes that disturbed or saddened him with their events.

Turns out certain elements get to me and I didn’t even consider it.

You know how some people think they’re cold enough to do something terrible without being bothered, but they really aren’t? I guess I’m that way with how I write.

“Sure, that might bother you, but it won’t bother me!”

So I relayed that thought and the counselor and I had a good laugh.

One thing it pays to remember in general, is to consider things you normally take for granted. When one thinks about stuff like that, one can really uncover surprising details as long as one stays grounded.

Sweeping stuff under the mental rug is necessary, but make sure you look under the rug from time to time.

Have a good day everybody!
* * *

Thought for the day: Blankets are warm. Blanket statements are cold.

Animal of the day: Koi Fish
Because even pretty fish can be tough.

Leave a Reply

