No Light, No Problem

I woke up really early this morning. How early? 3:30am. Felt good, ‘cause I turned in really early last night. But that means I’ve been up for a while already, and I’ve been getting work done.

Yesterday I turned my thoughts to editing in addition to the other projects I’m working on over this 60 day period. I am working on expanding this novella I wrote last fall into a longer story (VERY short novel of around 45-50,000 words). It’s the start of a series in a different setting from both my other current projects. I think three is a good number right now, because I need practice editing and I don’t have the fascination to put the pedal to the floor on any one story at the moment.

So I’ve been writing in the dark hours. I’ve been editing by the light of dawn. It feels good and I like to be alone sometimes. In fact, I’m learning to enjoy being by myself more and more lately. That is essential to my current wellbeing because I don’t get to hang out with others very much the way I live right now. In the not so distant past this has been very hard, but its getting easier.

I am definitely an introvert, but I still like people. I like to spend time with my friends. I’m not the rock that Simon and Garfunkel wrote about. But learning to enjoy my time alone is learning to enjoy my time working, and that is very important too.

In some ways I’m living a dream. I have a lot of free time. But in some ways this has cursed me with too much time that I’m still trying to figure out how to use. If I figure that out, I should be very well positioned.

These things aren’t my worries today, though. Today I’m happy and today I’m writing.
* * *

Thought for the day: Lessons never stop.

Animal of the day: Black Bear
Because little bears are still bears.

Leave a Reply

