Abandon

Abandon hope all ye who enter here. Or don’t, it’s no skin off my back.

Back in highschool I had to abandon a lot of hobbies to write. And I wrote. Now that I am no longer in school and working freelance, I have time to both pursue hobbies and write, but at the moment I manage time very poorly. I want to write with abandon.

Perhaps I’m playing on that word a bit much.

But its true.

I want to tell stories, and I need to spend more time doing it. I have different problems managing time on different days. Mostly this involves a variety of thought processes that prove unhelpful for progress.

Some prominent examples include:

“I’ll just play this game for a little bit…”

“I got up late so now I don’t have enough time.”

“The story is tough right now. I need more time to work it out in my head.”

“Let me listen to just one more show.”

“I need to learn just a little bit more before I start.”

“I’m too tired to write.”

“I already did a fair amount today. I need a break.”

These are all mental chokes that inhibit my writing process. Sometimes they keep it from even starting.
I don’t generally have an issue with not being inspired that some writers complain about. If I don’t feel inspired, I still need to work through that as well when it does happen.

Here are my retorts to the earlier chokes (Chokes here are Italicized):

“I’ll just play this game for a little bit…”
-Work before you play. Time isn’t unlimited, but the game will be around later.

“I got up late so now I don’t have enough time.”
-Any time spent writing will feel rewarding. Stop worrying about later today. Write now.

“The story is tough right now. I need more time to work it out in my head.”
-Try to work it out on the page.

“Let me listen to just one more show.”
-You’ve listened to too many shows. Listen later if you still want to listen when you’re done writing.

“I need to learn just a little bit more before I start.”
-You’ll learn more by working out issues with your own writing than you will from someone else’s conversation.

“I’m too tired to write.”
-If you write now it will help you wake up. Get excited about what you’re doing. Don’t just throw in the towel.

“I already did a fair amount today. I need a break.”
-Will you be happy with this amount at the end of the day? If not, keep writing.

So that’s what’s on my mind to today. Today I want to write with abandon.

Don’t look forward. Don’t look back. Look to this moment.
* * *

Thought for the day: Sometimes a fortune cookie can be a helpful tool.

Animal of the day: Baboon
Because not every animal (or every person) is articulate.

Leave a Reply

