My Blood, My Life

I don’t want to be a preacher. Though some would say my chosen profession has similarities to those who teach morality lessons, I deny this as a necessity of writing. This is not to say that I don’t have my own beliefs. It is to say that my beliefs are not more valuable than anyone else’s, for everyone has their own way.

That’s as much as I’m going to preach today.

When I was in high school, between two separate occasions I had both big toes crushed so the toenail turned black and fell off. I’m not going to go into how this happened, though looking back I cannot believe how stupid I must have been for it to happen each time.

So I was dumb. What else is new?

Recently I had a finger pinched in a door. This reminded me of the prior pain of losing those big toenails, though this one wasn’t quite as bad, just a large bruise under the fingernail. A bruise is formed when blood vessels burst under the skin. So blood is flowing out of place, but cannot escape the body.

Like misdirected effort that harms the one driving the action.

I’ve misdirected effort and hurt myself far too many times in my life. Unlike blood, human effort is always directed, even if it isn’t directed well. In each life, and in each action, the effect must be considered. That effect is not just on the world touched by the action, but also on the principle actor.

So a bit of philosophy for you today. Hope it isn’t too deep or spacey for morning.

Have a good day!
* * *

Thought for the day: Even an empty eggshell may not have lost all purpose.

Animal of the day: Giant Squid
Because even a creature with many arms has but one body.

Leave a Reply

