Angst is a Steampunk Robot

I’ve been assembling some Warmachine miniatures recently. For those who don’t know, Warmachine is a wargame by Privateer Press which features giant robots controlled by wizards smacking the crap out of each other. It’s interesting as a game, but it took me a lot of time to get into it from Warhammer 40,000 primarily thanks to one thing: conversions.

In Warhammer 40,000 there is room to modify the miniatures and make stuff new. I call that conversions. To some degree, Warmachine lacks this potential because of the more precise rules. I could make this clearer: In Warhammmer I made a greater daemon shaped like a dog, composed of ten smaller dogs and some huge worms. In Warmachine a model that different wouldn’t be playable as anything in the game. I’ve built a lot of modified miniatures, and for some time its been the most fun I’ve had. Not all of them are as out-there as my dog daemon. Even when I decided I wanted to play Warmachine, I fought with myself for a while without the option to mod stuff so extensively.

Perhaps this goes back to one of my underlying personality quirks. I want to be different from other people. I don’t want my art to resemble other peoples’ art. I want to be unusual, and I want to be exceptional. As far as I remember have I always wanted this stuff, going back to being a child. Like many wants this urge to be unique has been difficult from time to time. What’s more, I’m sure many creative people feel this way. On one level that annoys me, because I’m less unique. On another level, it’s very helpful because with that known I can avoid being alone because other people are somewhat more understandable.

In my case, its probably better to accept that nothing I do will be wholly unique. And then I can build magic steampunk robots without guilt.

* * *
Thought for the day: If life is a race why do we become sad some people finish early?

Animal of the day: Vulture
Because scavenging is a necessary part of life.

Yesterday’s Words:
“I promise I won’t bore you further.” Mosam circled his heart with his finger and smiled.
“You do that too?” Dara asked. “Yajain here was the only person I’ve seen make that gesture before.”

Album of the Day: In Keeping of Silent Earth Three by Coheed and Cambria
Coheed and Cambria is a pretty nutty band. This is their second album, and a favorite of mine. This band is a concept band, but as a writer I see the concept as being so far off its rocker I can simple enjoy the music. Still, can’t fault folks for trying, and the stories get better in the later albums in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

