The Mollusk of Life

Life is your mollusk. “The world is your oyster.” Whatever.

So I sometimes make a big stink over certain little things, like how much I write daily. I can’t promise that is coming to an end, but I can work on it. In the case of the writing this means trimming back my distractions. It shouldn’t be too difficult. Most of these distractions are the sort of bread that does not nourish. Getting rid of them will make me happier on all manner of counts.

In my case, I refer to the overlistening of podcasts primarily. It is silly. I don’t watch too much TV, or play too many videogames, but informative podcasts have sent my writing time down to ridiculous levels. I admit, I’m a bit embarrassed to admit this, but it’s true. Not the sort of thing I’d make up, at any rate.

The sort of things I’d devise to distract myself would be more along the lines of freakish creatures and things with many eyes. I’ve been drawing a little bit again, and that makes me happy. At any rate, I woke really late today. Guess I needed some quality time catching z’s. But I’m activated now. Now its time to get to work!

* * *

Thought for the day: “Have no fear of perfection – you’ll never reach it.” – Salvador Dali

Animal of the day: Tortoise
Because sometimes one needs to take the long view.

Yesterday’s Words: A pittance. (less than 100)

Album of the Day: The Mob Rules, by Black Sabbath
My favorite Black Sabbath songs mostly come from the time Dio fronted for them. This one is a strange, dark sounding album. I’m relistening to it today ‘cause its simply been too long without it.

Leave a Reply

