Want

It’s time for an irregularly-timed evaluation of the stuff I want.

This won’t be comprehensive, ‘cause I don’t see the need to go into the needs of human life. Not today.

Today I want to write, but how bad to I want it? That’s the real question. Where on the top ten list does it go. Honestly, does it make it there at all? I hope so.

Time for a stream of consciousness.

I want to eat delicious foods. I want to talk to people. I want to play games. I want to crunch numbers for RPGs…

But mostly I can distill this stuff down to the end result. I want to feel good. Is there any activity (other than eating) where I enjoy the process more than the conclusion? If not, that’s a big problem. After all, process is the part we spend the most time at.

I want to love what I do. Can I manage that? It’s not easy. Because the literary arts don’t supply sensory feedback, and sitting in a chair for hours and hours gets uncomfortable, sometimes painful. But if there’s a way or not, I’m gonna look for one. Because if one doesn’t appreciate walking one will be waiting until one arrives at the destination.

And life only has one destination in the end. No point in trying to look toward that horizon. No, I want to breathe and make my way in joy. I hope you can do the same.

* * *

Thought for the day: Coincidence nothing. Serendipity.

Animal of the day: The Moth
Because beauty can get old and worn.

Yesterday’s Words:
Yajain covered her mouth with one hand. Lin stalked to the fallen bird on her new metal and plastic legs. Yajain slowly lowered her hand and pressed it to her chest. Her sister glanced back at her with a smile. “I’ve gotten pretty good at shooting,” she said. “I bet I could hit one twice that far away.”

Album of the Day: Its Not as Simple as It Seems by Neal Hagberg
This is a dark alternative album unlike anything else I’ve ever heard. Each song is about an issue from the modern world, and the whole thing is an attempt to reconcile all these concerns with different beliefs and viewpoints. It sounds kinda preachy when I put it like that, but I think the best thing about this album is how it challenges the myopic place where everyone lives. It makes me think even more than usual, that’s for sure. Full disclosure: I met Neal Hagberg when I was in a college course. This album was pretty new at the time, and we chatted about it in class a bit. Also, Neal is one of the people I told about the Pillar Universe back then. Funny, I’m finally writing a book there now. Today’s excerpt is set there.

Leave a Reply

