Long Psychology

Another night of goofing off. Another day started late.

I know I’m playing too many videogames lately. It’s hard to tone down the time I spend though, in part because the novelty value of videogames is so strong at the moment. I played so much yesterday I’m starting to fall into a more usual problem for writers. How do I muster the will to delay my satisfaction of game playing so I can put writing first?

This is an interesting situation for me, because last year I didn’t play videogames at all, and I hadn’t played for a while. I’ve heard a lot of advice on carving out time to write, but it hadn’t been easily applicable before because I didn’t have the energy to do anything. Now I have energy, but its misdirected. I see this as a step forward. One step, but its a vital one.

Now I need to carve time from games and socializing to build my writing schedule.

So what can I do? I can set aside time where I do nothing but write. My life is simple enough at the moment (and it can’t really get simpler) so I should be able to just pick hours at almost any point in the day.

Bully for me.

Time to narrow things down. Hone the blade. Move forward. Got to change my trajectory.

* * *

Thought for the day: Working out problems must be done with care, lest additional problems arise.

Animal of the day: Red Hare
Because Guan Yu’s horse proves that one can often remember the smallest icons of a story. In this case, see The Romance of the Three Kingdoms.

Yesterday’s Words:
Yajain put a hand to the transteel wall of the cell. “It’s akul weed,” she said. “Common illsirree disinfectant herb.”
“Poetic.” Lin rounded on Yajain. “What does it mean?

Album of the Day: Deconstruction by Devin Townsend Project
This album is about as weird as Devin Townsend, my favorite performer by the way, gets. It’s metal. It’s proggy at times. And it has some of the most strange and funny lyrics I’ve found. What’s more, its not horrifically dark as compared to a lot of other metal.

Leave a Reply

