Significance of Scale

Today I woke with a crick in the neck. But that’s not significant today. I got stuff to do.

But right now I don’t think its time to talk about writing. It’s time to talk about miniatures.

I’ve been studying different scales of miniatures in preparation for starting a collection of 15/18mm miniatures (1/100 scale roughly). These miniatures are a good deal smaller than my usual 28/30mm miniatures, about half the size. But 28mm is a pretty small as it is, so why do I want smaller? Well, frankly, because 28mm is not small enough for some purposes.

Tiny miniatures versus even tinier miniatures. That’s been on my mind ever since I backed the kickstarter campaign for All Quiet on the Martian Front last year. I’ve yet to actually receive the miniatures from that, because, as with most highly successful but manufacturing intensive kickstarters things get bogged down. But even so, I’m excited for 15mm, in particular 15mm science fiction and fantasy, because of the possibilities of scaling up the monsters and vehicles without costing me an arm and a leg.

Currently I’m looking at Ghost in the Shell anime-knock-off style minis from this place called Dark Star Games. Stuff looks good, and doesn’t seem to feature too much loss of detail from 28mm. Considering getting some of these little miniatures with my current small influx of cash from a little freelance job I just completed. Cheaper is a definite edge to 15mm.

I’m excited. Oh, and there’s a mecha model from my current favorite manga (Knights of Sidonia) thats in the same scale… hmmm… How can I work this one in to a game some day? So yes, my second obsession after writing fiction is definitely miniatures and the games I play with them. Toy soldiers, but for grownups.

* * *

Thought for the day: Obsess less. Act more.

Album of the Day: Howl by Black Rebel Motorcycle Club
This one is an acoustic rock album by a band from the UK. I’ve been listening to it for a while, and I don’t know how to explain it, but I enjoy dark and acoustic music. You know I’m all over the opening song in True Detective for the same reason.

Leave a Reply

