Organization and Routine

I’m putting some of my old pre-2014 blog posts in order on my machine. They’d been kinda poorly set up, but now they’re all going into a single location. This doesn’t mean a whole lot, but it took some of my time this morning, so I figured I’d let you know.

I was told something interesting yesterday, more than one thing really, but the main one was that I like routine. It’s true, but I’ve been fighting it. Even though I blog fairly routinely since I started the 60 day challenge I have had a hard time getting the rest of my life on a schedule. Maybe that’s part of the problem: I used to think a routine needed to be a schedule and I’m still practicing otherwise. I’m trying to think of it more as an order of operations. So I eat before I read. Then I read before I blog. And I blog before I exercise. And I exercise before I write. That’s kinda the plan I’m working with at the moment.

I think if I can turn this into a routine (which has been easy so far, except for the crucial final step of writing) then I should be able to get used to hammering out the words I need to get down. I think not putting my work on a strict time schedule is probably going to help, but it will take a lot of practice of this routine to make it habitual. And until then it will be easy to break.

The stories I tell dig at my mind when I let them sit too long, though, so its time to get a work ethic in. Otherwise I’m just sitting around doing nothing far too much. I can’t afford that any longer, even if it was just the freelance work I’m engaged in, and it isn’t just that.

* * *

Thought for the day: Use your freedom to choose what is right for you.

Album of the Day: Hydra by Within Temptation
I actually don’t have much to say about this because I’m listening to it for the first time as I write this post. Its interesting and varied, and the frontwoman of the band sounds great. The rapping in one song kinda threw me, but not in an all bad way.

Leave a Reply

