Shallows

I feel like I’m wading in a lake sometimes. Haven’t swum in years, but I’m wading now. I think its got something to do with the way I’ve been refusing to dive into my work. And yes, today is yet another writing post.

You know how it is, wading in a lake. At first the water’s cold to the touch. But eventually, if you dive in, the air will seem colder, a strange trick of perception.

I have been wading in a lake of one book, and trying to wade in another at the same time. I think that means I’m still in the shallows with both of them. This is a problem for me. There are some writers out there who can switch between projects easily. I don’t think I can.

All the words and characters and feel of one story flow into this lake, but the words of the other are already there. It’s a jumble. It’s a mess. I want think forward on my first project, but the second is already claiming my attention.

Maybe I’m wading in the lake of one story while the other story is a cloud raining over the surface. So if don’t go in I simply get speckled with cold rather than immersing myself in it. It’s not a perfect metaphor. But its a bit of how I feel.

I’m going to dive in, but not into the lake. I’ll dive into the cloud.

* * *

Thought for the day: Sometimes a creative binge is necessary. Going all out can be exilerating.

Album of the Day: Alien by Strapping Young Lad
This is a really heavy album, and my favorite SYL. To me it feels like a concept album, like most of Devin Townsend’s work. I do enjoy it, but its dark and it took me a long time to get used to it.

Leave a Reply

