From 10,000 Feet

As I write this post I sit in a relatively comfortable seat on a 757 bound for Michigan. From there its a flight to Pennsylvania to join a lot of my extended family in celebrating my Grandmother’s 90th birthday. And there’s Easter of course, which is always a good time to celebrate.

For once I feel purely glad to be making this trip. And for once I’m not stuffed into a huge van to do it.

I am still going to be blogging on this trip, of course.

But at the moment I am high above the land. Ears popping a little every few minutes. It’s just another moment I feel privileged to be alive and in such a good position. I did not feel quite so privileged on the drive to the airport, having to leave home in the icy black of morning with exhaustion threatening my senses at every odd moment.

It’s odd to be able to rest for the bulk of a journey, like a bike ride downhill both ways.

I used to fear flying. Years ago, going on an International Flight was my first time in the air. That must have been 2000 or so, but before 2001, because that was the second time my family went to Australia with a bunch of students. Both times we went so my father could teach an astronomy class of the southern skies. I didn’t enjoy those trips as much as one might have hoped.

But I’ve been flying for over ten years so it sounds crazy cool when they announced on this flight that wifi may be available in the air. It’s the first time I’ve had that option, and I didn’t realize it would be available though I’d heard it was on some flights.

So off I fly. Short trip, but it should be a good one.

Also, I backed a wonderful RPG project called Storium on Kickstarter. I figured I’d mention it because if you’re reading this I’d hope you have some interest in fiction or RPGs. They let backers into their beta test, and I’m currently enjoying a game I just joined. We’ll see if I can get online to update stuff for my character there when I’m done writing this post. If not, I’ll check again in Detroit.

I may be a bit irregular with when I post over the next few days, but I’ll still be putting up new stuff every day if I can manage it.

* * *

Thought for the day: Heh, heh, Soar! Clouds are below. A different angle can make one appreciate familiar things more.

Album of the day: MTV Unplugged in New York by Nirvana
An album I remember my oldest bother having when I was very young. I didn’t like it then, but I think it may have primed me for liking rock music when I grew up. The cover of David Bowie’s “The Man Who Sold the World” is particularly awesome. Also, because this is a live performance I think its worth mentioning how much of the material between songs interests me because it provided me a perspective on how performers act on stage.

Leave a Reply

