Storium

I backed a lovely online text-based RPG called Storium a few weeks ago. I’ve been engaged in the beta test offered to backers for a couple of weeks now, and I am enjoying it immensely. At the time of this posting the Kickstarter (Well past funded, but marching on toward amazing stretch goals) is still going on with some 10 days left. Check that out here if it sounds interesting: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/stlhood/storium-the-online-storytelling-game

Play by Post is an RPG form that I’ve tried in the past but it was pretty damn difficult to keep everyone involved even though we were all friends. Now I’m playing in a game with strangers and things are going strong. The system is innovative, based more on storytelling than on random chance, and I think this is one of the best reasons. More or less Storium is an RPG designed to play in the medium it exists in online, whereas the RPGs I’ve tried to run on forums in the past were all designed to be played live first and foremost.

There will always be a special place for live, in person games, in my heart, but Storium is helping me scratch this itch at a time where its hard to get people together. Highly recommended.

Now back to work. Last day of this, I promise.

Leave a Reply

