Spies and Craft… And Pillars

Of all the Roleplaying Games I’ve played, the most complicated is probably Spycraft 2.0 and its also one of the best.

Spycraft, as the name suggests, is a modern RPG about operatives, spies, and other James Bond or Jason Bourne-esque folk that can also be adapted to other types of modern or futuristic games. I’m thinking about it lately because I like to apply my settings to RPGs and Spycraft is one of the systems I’ve liked the look of best for the Pillar Universe. But there are challenges to that.

Now, the Pillar Universe is not necessarily a ‘modern’ setting, so the gear would all be different there than in the spycraft core book. And for those of you who have read the spycraft core book, you know that gear is practically this game’s magic system. It takes up a HUGE amount of the book and is extremely detailed. To create a similar effect with the pillar universe I’ll have to create at least a facsimile of equal complexity.

I’ve spoken with my brother who enjoys spycraft as well about this particular problem, and we have concluded that there really is no work around for the Pillar Universe’s gear if I want to work with spycraft. That is not to say I don’t have a good idea of the gear I want to use in this setting’s games, but the level of detail is the part I have not prepared for… but why Spycraft at all if its so complicated?

For starters the system has a lot of excellent flourishes as well as a solid core set of D20 mechanics. It creates powerful modern-style characters and has balanced abstraction and concreteness in systems like money in ways I like. Also, the style is high action but also high detail, which is something I like a great deal.

Oh well, this post is getting on there in words. Sometimes you roll the dice and don’t know what to do with them. Heh.

Have a good day.

* * *

Thought for the day: Complexity begets complex thought if it is allowed.

Album of the day: Year of the Black Rainbow by Coheed and Cambria
This is my least-listened Coheed and Cambria album, but they are one of my favorite bands, so its getting played today. And it still packs a few really great songs. “Pearl of the Stars” and “The Black Rainbow” are both standouts for different reasons. “Pearl” is a soft little track, and “The Black Rainbow” an epic rock conclusion to the album.

Leave a Reply

