Critique!

Had an excellent session of writing group last night. I’m excited to have more people start adding material of theirs for me to critique.

When critique is offered in the appropriate (constructive) fashion it can be exhilarating as well as terrifying,at least for me.

However, being asked to read and think critically about the elements of another person’s unpublished story is the greater prize for learning writing skills because when doing so one is divorced from the writer-mind more completely. Rereading a story as the creator of that story is not always enough to find the problems within it.

In any case, I keep seeking readers for my work because I know they’ll see things I miss. And I’m still learning. Every writer is still learning the craft, but especially for people like me, there is a lot to practice and a lot to communicate.

Have a satisfying day!

Leave a Reply

