The Future?

Writing group last night felt better than last time I attended one of them about a month ago.

I was a little intrigued and befuddled by a comment that if I spruced up the story I’d sent the others for this week I should try submitting it to Writers of the Future.

Now, I don’t know about this, but I was intrigued because it looks like there’s no reason why not. Except possibly for the Scientology connection, which I could live with personally.

However, I was a bit befuddled because I doubt very much I’ll even get an honorable mention at a contest with thousands of submissions each quarter. I thought this story was good, but its not THAT good. I’m not trying to humble-brag. This story still needs plenty of work, whether I straight self-publish it or submit it somewhere.

I already have the story for the most part. Most of the work is already there. And Writers of the Future would be a good excuse to practice my polishing skills.

I guess I was a bit taken aback. That’s all. Writing group always gives me a lot to think about.

Better thoughts than I’d get on my own, for sure.

One thought on “The Future?

  1. I say do it. I’m always trying with markets or contests that I am scared of… and one time I actually made honorable mention out of thousands of entries. The other times? Not so much, but…. you’ll never know unless you try

Leave a Reply

