Edge of Tomorrow, Yesterday

I watched Edge of Tomorrow, the film with Tom Cruise and Emily Blunt, last night. I enjoyed it, partially because it was in subgenre I enjoy, and partially because it subverted a few of the the characteristics of that genre while staying true to its overall premise.

As an action movie this one worked interestingly and in ways that kept the action from fatiguing me. I’m not going to spoil any of the premise if you haven’t seen it, but I bet most people reading this blog will have at least heard of this one recently.

I don’t know what genre people are cramming this one into, though I’m sure science fiction is on everyone’s minds.

In any case, I liked what I saw. I even thought it felt fairly original for a film concept (with some caveats involving groundhogs that I won’t go into here). Anyway, this kind of work sometimes makes me wonder if the premise could be done as well in a different medium. In this case, I don’t think so, because the quick cuts and transitions in time are vital to how this film works.

In prose fiction, one couldn’t get the effect of repeated shots nearly as easily. Repeated passages would not accomplish this effectively, and if one does not have the similarity of appearances I think a great deal of the strength goes out of the story.

Overall, this made me want to watch more movies. I don’t see a whole lot of lengthy ones these days, purely by priorities.

Have a good Saturday!

Leave a Reply

