Don’t be Intimidated

I intimidate myself out of writing a lot of the time.

I’ll look at the next goal I want to make, and even small goals seem enormous. How small? A 900 word scene sometimes seems like a lot for a session. So I have to trick myself to keep going.

If I start by working on one sentence, one character moment, or one effect I get a big boost to both enthusiasm and confidence.

How difficult is it to write one sentence? See, usually this snowballs into a bigger session. Those 700 or 900 word scenes that seem somehow tough get written before I know it.

A lot of the time in life things are a lot simpler, a lot easier than they appear. Getting started is key.

Not being intimidated is key.

Leave a Reply

