Limp Past Go

My right leg hurts after long day, and causes me to slow down sometimes. But that’s not what this post is about.

Though I’ve made some progress lately I still feel I’m only limping along.

Yesterday, in a conversation I had pointed out to me that I could really use a daily project, something to accomplish each day that isn’t tied to numbers like hours writing or words written. So now I must decide what a single unit of writing will be for me.

I have chosen this: One chapter a day.

My chapters are of pretty regular length, but often run long or a little short as well. I’m pleased with the idea.

The other key to this concept is to make every chapter feel like a major stepping stone in the story, which itself is something I should be doing anyway. A sense of progression is a powerful (and necessary) tool to work with in fiction.

With my novella drafted I have 1-2 novel projects left to finish this month. The first of the these two possible novels is the novel I started for national novel writing month last november. I got the 50,000 words for NaNoWriMo but the story has grown and I’m still working on the first draft. Around 30,000 words to go.

The other work is a freelance project I may not be getting back to this month based on client reaction to earlier work. It will run around 30,000 words when I get the go-ahead.

So 60,000 words is roughly where I’m headed for the month.

Off I go.

Leave a Reply

