Lack of Information

I guess it always happens when I hear the feedback. I don’t deliver enough information. I know it. I’m trying to grow, but I just don’t know how to stop making the same mistakes.

This is a human thing, but at the moment for me, its a writing thing.

The work of writing is fun. But I don’t think I’m able to do what I need to do, in essence, make my stories clear to readers.

It’s weird. I’ve sold fiction freelance. That work has been well-received by my clients. Why can’t I ever seem to make a story of my own work? It’s a conundrum, but the cause of the issue may lay not in my technique but in my enthusiasm.

See, I get carried away with my worlds. I know them too well and forget to show my work. This is, of course, confusing to readers. When I write freelance I have little excitement for the project most of the time, and the ideas aren’t mine so I have to explain them more to myself as I go to make them work.

The issue is the same as my productivity problems: How can I treat my work as something separate from myself? I’m not so narcissistic as to believe I am unique in this problem. However, I have never gotten writing advice that helped me break out of this. Perhaps thats why I’m sharing. I don’t know how to push the work away from myself while maintaining my own interest.

Guess maybe I am a bit narcissistic.

As much as I get frustrated with it, outlining seems to help a bit with this. But I don’t know for sure, because I haven’t gotten a lot of feedback on the stories I’ve outlined from the beginning. Those stories need to be written first, I suppose.

In any case, I am off to the word mines for the day. Take it easy, folks.

Leave a Reply

