Anxious but Excited

Shortly I will be starting into the second half of a rough draft of a novel. This isn’t the first time I’ve gone through this process with this story, but the previous midpoint did not work. I outlined and re-outlined, and finally I think I’ve got a story that fits with the earlier parts I’ve written.

I’m worried this won’t work out, but I’m going to try as hard as I can not to go back to the outlining drawing board again too soon. This story is a tough, and awkward, one for me to write, but I am excited about it. I just need to channel that excitement onto the page as clearly as possible.

The story involves one main character’s thread and two smaller perspectives that circle that thread. The most challenging part of this story technically has been the integration of the first person main character with two third-person secondary characters. In addition to that challenge, I have the usual crazy world-building to illuminate for the readers, and the attempt to make the characters feel like realistic depictions of people.

I think I’m ready to tackle those challenges. My goal for today is 4000 words or more.

Wish me luck! And hope all of your weeks start off well.

Leave a Reply

