Building Steam

The work part of writing for me only really occurs when I am not excited. Right now I feel a complete lack of excitement, which I suspect is because I’ve been building notes in the wrong direction.

In order for me to write an exciting story, the ideas and characters have to excite me. For some reason, this has been the most difficult part of the process since I graduated from college.

I’ve been struggling and struggling to make writing easier for myself. I may just have to accept its gonna be tough for the foreseeable future.

Are my ideas stale? They certainly feel that way. But perhaps that is because I usually underbuild characters prior to starting the story. I’m working on that.

Difficulty doesn’t translate to a call to stop, but it certainly doesn’t make it easy to keep going.

I like writing when the ideas all feel amazing in my mind. But I’ve been piling up projects for well over ten years and still have yet to finish a longer work to put on sale. I asked myself this morning if that is the issue. I feel as though I’m writing rough drafts and never going any further. But the rough draft is not the end of the process.

I’ve been editing an older novel lately, but I don’t know if I should be trying to produce it for market or doing newer stories that might excite me more. I’m still young, but I feel like I’ve been doing this too long without any big outward signs of success.

Writers work for a long time to perfect their craft. How much longer is this steam going to have to build before I start releasing novels?

Answer: At least until I have novels to release.

Thanks for reading. Have a good day everybody!

Leave a Reply

