Sunday, April 26th

Almost four months into this year and I am finally getting the hang of things here.

Sunday is my day off of writing fiction, officially.

But I may do some writing anyway, just because I’m enjoying the story I have before me.

I have hit the 50,000 word mark on this novel. I expect it’ll be another 50k before I finish this volume.

It’s important to see those next 50,000 words as an opportunity rather than a chore. After all, if I decide I am happy with ending the book at any point before I hit 100,000 I can. I only need the story, not the word count.

After three years of trying to find a solution to laziness I think the answer is that I’m not lazy. I’m not bored. I just lack perspective. Life and work don’t always appreciate each other, but they need each other.

From now on I think I’m just going to post the date as the title of these blog entries. I simply don’t have the energy to come up with a title for every post, and the title doesn’t mean much anyway.

Here’s hoping all of you are doing well. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

