Bugs and Summer

I’m really close to finishing Kameron Hurley’s God’s War, but I had to go get liquid nitrogen applied to stubborn foot parasites instead of finishing the wrap up. I’ll probably get to that as soon as this post is up.

It took me a few chapters to really get into this book, but when I did I really loved it. This is a pattern with Kameron Hurley’s work and me. I wouldn’t say she fails to hook me, but it takes time to really get into the meat of the conflict. Her characters are wonderfully unpredictable and at the same time lifelike. This is the second novel I’ve read of Hurley’s, the other being the excellent Mirror Empire. I’ve read a few of her shorter works as well, and I got to say she does a great job with build up. I want to study her work to glean the means of making believable action that builds into high drama.

Anyway, I’ve gushed enough. The book is good. I support Hurley on Patreon as well, and the first story I received certainly did not disappoint. She’s quickly becoming one of my favorite authors.

Anyhow, summer is officially begun here in Minnesota with the end of the school year. I am still trying to write the new story, and I really need to re-edit and find another beta reader for the old book if I want to release it this summer. And I do want to release it.

Hope all is well with you. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

