Forms of Defeatism

Other than the quality reading I’ve been doing lately I’m beginning to feel the doldrums hard. I’m now about 1/3 of the way through this book I’m writing, but I’ve been stuck on it almost a week. Excitement is present, but distraction is paramount.

Like most writers, I have a lot of ideas all the time. Countless stories present themselves and keep permuting as I work on other things, especially when those other things are stories where I’m trying to add words.

I’m trying to integrate some of these ideas, but its tough. It’s very tough. Anyway, I guess I don’t want to get into that too much. Procrastination is a big deal too. I am a slow writer now. I guess its official. But I don’t want to stay this way. I want to work more. I want to do more. I’ve ranted at this on this blog at length. Part of me is defeatist.

Part of me likes to be stuck. Part of me hates breaking the current situation of the story to keep moving forward. Part of me fears what will happen when the book is written, edited, read, sold. Those parts of me need to shut the hell up.

I’m doing this, and I’m going to enjoy it. Work? What’s that? This is a game I am playing.

Thanks for reading. Have a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

