Shame is a Golden Paladin

I have played a lot of a particular game over the past couple of years. That game, is Hearthstone, from Blizzard (The same company behind World of Warcraft). Among the first PC games I enjoyed was Warcraft: Orcs and Humans. That is kind of beside the point, though, because now I’ve become addicted to this card game set in the same videogame world.

I grew up playing Magic the Gathering, so maybe that’s why I even bothered requesting a beta invite for Hearthstone. I got in, and the rest is chaos. Hearthstone is a lot like Magic, but its a lot simpler and more limited in what one can do, at least at this point. Even so, there are rabbit holes I have gotten lost down in this game.

You see, if you win 500 games on the ladder with each class in the game (Of which there are 9), you are awarded with a golden version of that class’s equipment, an animated portrait etc… I don’t know why this matters to me. Blizzard is great with game psychology, I guess. This month I achieved my second golden class. Golden Paladin. I play this game every day. I need to stop playing every day, because I’m ashamed at how much time I spend on this silly stuff.

Yet, I found the game very satisfying for quite a while. I still find it involving. But I’m never going to be good at it. I’ve given it hundreds of hours over the past few years. I need to take it less seriously. Part of me thinks the game isn’t even fun. I want to be a writer more than I want to be play this game. I want to be a writer more than I want a Golden Paladin.

Guess, that means its time to unplug a little bit. Time to get the world back in order, and the fingers back on the keys for longer each day.

Last night, I had a conversation with my twin brother in which I complained, as I often have in the past, about the things I want to write about that I feel I must not write. I want to do things I was telling myself were cliche or wrong, but which I must pursue if I am going to reclaim my time from Hearthstone.

I am happy to report that for once I feel as though something changed after that conversation.

No more golden classes. No more obsession over a game that doesn’t even give me that much enjoyment. I don’t mean this to bash the game. Clearly its a very good and playable game. No, I’m just not cut out for this stuff.

When I was in high school I gave up almost all videogames in favor of writing. That time is once more upon me. I don’t plan to quit cold turkey this time, but I will be reducing the time I spend playing in favor of writing.

Thanks for reading everyone.

Leave a Reply

