Who Cares?

I recently listened to an Interview with Ed Greenwood, creator of the Forgotten Realms (among other things), over on the Roundtable Podcast. I really enjoyed that episode, and within it an example came up that spoke to a part of me I’d previously lost track of about what matters in the world.

In this example, Greenwood brought up the concept of people who are obsessed with Whovian Trivia. The line that spoke to me was something along the lines of [Other people say], “Who cares?” Well, they do! They care…

To the best of my knowledge, this sums up a conclusion to one of the problems I’ve been dealing with over the past few years.

The question I ask myself would go something like: Who cares if I do anything? Who cares if I write this story?

Not a very good question to start with, but it was my go-to for far too long. Now I have an answer. I care. Other people might or might not care. But I care about my own stuff. Simple, right? Yet the simple things are often the source of great trouble.

Thanks for reading.

 

EDIT: Here is a link to the podcast episode that inspired this post. http://www.roundtablepodcast.com/2015/08/20-minutes-with-ed-greenwood/

Leave a Reply

