The Power of Reasons

The weekend saw me finish reading a pair of books. I’ve tweeted about these a bunch already, and they made me very happy. For the last time, Envy of Angels by Matt Wallace is amazing. Fortress Frontier by Myke Cole is pretty phenomenal as well, especially for someone who enjoys speculative fiction and wargames like me.

I also wrote over 3000 words this morning, for my NaNoWriMo novel. Pretty happy about that. Two chapters hammered out.

I guess this post is kind of about those words. I chose to write them even though I had difficulty answering the question as to why I wanted to do this story. It’s going to be a complicated book, multiple POVs, weird speculative fiction elements, the whole nine yards.

Last week I hesitated to make headway into this book but now I know why. I did not trust my own enthusiasm for the initialization of the project. Even though I liked the design of my characters and the various weird complexes that stem from each of their pasts, I didn’t trust myself to take them seriously. The story is one of the most bizarre genre mash-ups I’ve ever actually worked on.

And the truth is, I don’t care that it might be too out there. I like the idea. I like the movement the story has going so far. This book is going to be pretty fast-paced, and I hope to race through it as fast as I’ve been going today.

In addition, there is still editing to be done on three of my past novels, including the one I just finished rough drafting this month. I want to be productive and prolific. Heaven help me, I may be on my way in that direction.

This post could be called the power or readiness. Recently I’ve been cutting down on my news-watching. I stopped watching The Young Turks, especially, because their negativity is just suffocating to my creativity. I don’t want to live a life that feels pointless, so that kind of thing has to go. Instead, I hope to read more books and watch more good TV shows. These are the sorts of fuel I need right now. And I need fuel.

The world should not get to seem as dark as it does on the news at my expense. So I choose not to watch any news. I want to be informed, and I hope to keep up. I don’t want to be naive. But I have reasons to move forward and my own path to cleave through this jungle, just as everyone does. No time to wallow in the sludgy mires of depression and doom.

The reason to write was always because I loved it. That strikes me as the best reason to do anything. I won’t go so far as to say its the only way to go. I don’t have that kind of certainty. I only know, I want to live this way.

Thanks for reading, and have a good day.

Leave a Reply

