Taking Lester Dent’s Formula for a spin

I am gonna write a short story today, and I’ve been trying to find a way to make it awesome.

See, I’m not a short-fiction kinda guy, for the most part, but I’ve done a few. This will be a sequel to one of my existing stories, though I’m still not 100% positive which one to work on.

Whatever I choose, I will most likely be working with Lester Dent’s pulp story plot formula as a basis. That’s the creator of Doc Savage’s formula for exciting fiction from back in the 1950’s and before. By its nature it suggests murders, so that is interesting. I’ve never really done a murder mystery, so that’s another good reason to use that element.

The pace of writing a short story is often fairly rapid for me, so let’s see what happens. I’ll update you on how this goes once I’ve hammered out a rough draft.

That’s all for now.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

