Thoughts on “Death is No Obstacle” and Failure

I have a rather hard to find book of interviews with author, Michael Moorcock. It is called “Death is No Obstacle.” I originally picked it up, because of one exchange I found noted online about how to write a novel in four days. Actually, I employed the advice from that particular portion of the book in writing my latest rough novel.

I read a later portion of the book for the first time, this afternoon. Not only did the voices of these two, clearly intelligent humans (The author and the interviewer) infect my brain, the interview’s subject got to me. You see, this portion of the lengthy series of conversations was about the only two works of his own Moorcock considered to be failures.

Right there the subject became fascinating to me. A good piece of advice to writers new and old is that failure is normal, rejection inevitable. I’m fairly certain this is true, especially in the arts. The simple matter is, I always feel like a failure. I probably always will, but who knows.

Through reading this discussion in “Death is No Obstacle” about what this author, who can often seem disdainful of the genre in which he worked (Incidentally one of the ones I prefer to write in as well), he is not completely arrogant. He is a human being who acknowledges his limitations. How refreshing.

Failure does not necessarily correlate directly to limitations. I have a member of my family who has told me nothing but nasty things about my work and seems to think I should give up writing because I’ll never be good at it. How silly that seems to me while I’m in a mood like this, but how dangerous that kind of talk is when I’m down.

Failures happen to all of us, I suppose. Anger because of that is as useless as negative comments that do not illuminate the path to future advancements.

I am probably too vague for the internet right now. Best be done.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

