The Way Home

I am writing these words from 35,000 feet in the air, with the keyboard balanced on my bag to give me room to type. This is the flight home. A lot has happened in the past two and a half weeks since I last posted, some sad, but most joyous and fun.

First of all, just a few days after my last post, on the weekend before my family left for Christmas vacation, my paternal grandmother, Rita Niederriter, passed away. She lived into her early nineties, and my grandfather (Her husband) just passed last fall, along with my grandmother’s older sister. While all this made me sad, we were very lucky that the whole extended family made it to the service on Christmas Eve to celebrate her life.

After a fun Christmas, my immediate family drove back to southern Minnesota, including my twin brother. We were home just long enough to shovel the driveway a few times before we left for California, which I just departed a few hours ago, through LAX. We spent the last week celebrating my older brother’s wedding. A new sister-in-law was added to the family in a wonderful ceremony in the LA Cathedral.

I ate A LOT of good food (Much of it Korean) and saw some sites around Los Angeles. Chased a few birds that stole bread from our bag at the beach. You know, a vacation. Now it’s back to the ice and snow of a Minnesota Winter, and back to editing and writing. I’m starting to receive beta-feedback on my novel, and should be able to release it in late-January, barring complications. Right now, I’m aiming for my birthday on the 19th to release, but there may not be enough time to get comments processed before that.

Things are quieting down on the travel front, but will soon be going loud in writing and publishing.

I am going to be working on a new, somewhat more relaxed schedule, where I write on the main book four days a week and a new serial project on Fridays. That serial project will be published on this blog starting in about 10 days, on this very blog, and on the website I am still tinkering with at timniederriter.com. Look for that each Friday, starting on Friday the 15th of January, and every Friday after that for at least 16 weeks.

The new year has me excited. As those of you who follow me on twitter may have seen, I posted there that the first thing I did on new years day, right after midnight, was write. It’s true. The new years words were mostly just notes for the serial, but I did them because I want this year to be a year of fun writing, and excitement in my chosen career. There will be lots to do, between the novels, the serial, the nonfiction I want to do, and all the rest. I may not have time to start the podcast I wanted to do this year, but we will see how this new routine works.

Anyway, I’m writing this post on the plane because I want to make sure I get it to you today. By the time you see this I’ll be safely on the ground again. Happy new year, and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

