A Reread: 2k to 10k by Rachel Aaron

I first read “2k to 10k” by Rachel Aaron quite a while ago, back when I was in the thick of my depressed and unproductive period. Let met start by saying that I like the book, and virtually all of the advice seems very practical.

It’s about going from writing 2000 words a day to 10,000 words a day. Another note: I’ve written at around the 10k/day rate in the past, mostly during the summer after my first year of college. However, I’ve been struggling to return to that kind of productivity since I graduated.

While the book goes into the author’s inner problems a little bit, I think it’s worth noting I seem to be more mentally messed up than Rachel Aaron. At least, I was when I first read this book. I think this is a big factor in why I couldn’t return to the 10k a day word count even after reading this book, using its advice to study my process, and retrying that process multiple times.

You see, this book includes one’s excitement for one’s own story as an important factor in writing fast. As someone with ADHD which often makes me feel compelled to work on other stories, and also with at least some form of depression that distorts my worldview (Especially as far as positive emotions are concerned) I think I have a few additional obstacles to tackle in addition to the triangle of factors Rachel Aaron describes in 2k to 10k.

The three factors are:
1. Knowledge (Of the story and where it is going)
2. Time (To spend writing)
3. Enthusiasm (For the story)

I usually plan my stories a lot. Occasionally I have not done enough initial work on my characters, but lately, I’ve been doing better at that.

I type fast enough, and I have enough time to do 10k per day pretty much every day. Time is not the issue.

I love many things about my stories, so enthusiasm for the particular work is not the problem, except when I enter a hyperactive mode. The bigger issue here, I think, is the general low I feel at times. When I first read the book, these issues were far worse than they are right now.

That fact occurred to me yesterday. So I went back and decided to reread 2k to 10k and check to see if the I could try again. With my depression largely in remission, the hyperactive challenge remains.

When I get excited for a story, I often experience worsening hyperactivity. This is a serious obstacle. Also, an opportunity.

If I am to write a whole lot of words each day, I really need to direct my hyperactive impulses toward the story at hand, specifically the details I want to add to scenes and ways to elaborate on work. Thinking about a dozen different stories won’t get any of them written on its own.

How can I focus my out-of-control side? That is a good question that I don’t have an answer for just yet.

I’ll let you know when I have an answer that is working.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

