Nanocast and Writing Advice

Lately, I’ve been listening to J. Daniel Sawyer’s nanocast over at nanowrimoeverymonth and I’ve even sent in a few questions, as questions are what sustain this podcast and I have a bunch of respect for Sawyer’s opinion despite not having read much of his work.

That’s kinda what this post is about because writing advice is a tricky thing both to give and to take.

See, a lot of writing advice sounds absolute, so the first piece of writing advice every writer should know is something a lot of people have impressed on me over the years: No ‘rules’ are absolute. What works for you, works for you.

I like that bit of advice because it puts the power in the hands of each writer as an individual. It is up to each of us to make the decisions and the discoveries of what works for us. I consider the above advice the ONLY indispensable piece of advice, but (At risk of getting WAY too meta) it is possible some writers will do just amazingly by taking advice as absolutes.

Don’t know if I’ll ever meet one of those people, but I’m open to the possibility they exist.

This advice about advice is almost to studying writers as Ganesha is to Hindus who believe in many gods. I remember learning that Ganesha is the gatekeeper of the gods in Hinduism, so one always prays to this elephant-headed son of Shiva before addressing any other gods. Boy, that was a tangent, but I kinda like it.

Anyway. Always consider what works for you. Try new things, but don’t forget that no technique, rule, or guideline is absolute. Different stuff works for different goals and different people.

I’m writing super well today. Getting caught up on this chapter of Tenlyres.

Anyway, I hope you are all well.

Thanks for reading.

One thought on “Nanocast and Writing Advice

Leave a Reply

