Here and Gone and News

bridge-19513

I was falling asleep last night when I had a terrific idea for a blog post. I wanted to write it down but I but then I feel asleep. Now that I’m awake I don’t have the thought anymore.

Regardless, there is some good news. I have begun recording a podcast that should stick, along with my friend and able cohost, Rob Ward.

Of Mooks & Monsters is a podcast about alternative RPGs, worldbuilding, and all things related to games. With Dungeons and Dragons having lost its supremacy in the last decade, and our own experiments in roleplaying games, Rob and I thought it would be fun.

So, this is officially an end to the short-lived Lore of the Worlds, at least for now. I just couldn’t keep doing a show by myself. Oh well, live and learn.

The other bit of news I have is that I am going to be pushing back the release of Rem’s Dream a bit. I want to get this book right, and that will take the time to edit. Also, I’ve had the damnedest time writing the Tenlyres serial while trying to edit.

The show must go on, so Tenlyres is going to take priority until I can build a substantial buffer or even finish the story.

For those of you not familiar with Rem’s Dream, it’s a near-future young adult story about a girl who is forever haunted by a sentient nightmare and still goes after her own ambition to become a dream scout and explore the world beyond sleep.

Look for Rem’s Dream in July. I can’t push it back any further than that if I want to keep my other goals moving, but Tenlyres is calling like Cthulhu and I must heed that siren song.

There will be other books later this year, including the sequel to Hunter and Seed, called Spurring the Beast. I want to make sure the books I produce are well-prepared and well-targeted when I release them.

A book is a large investment of my time and effort at this point. I want to make sure I get the best out of each of them.

That about covers today. I’ve heard way too much awful news over the past week, but in particular, the worst mass-shooting in United States history has gotten to me. At times like this, I don’t really know what to say.

We are all connected by the chains of cause and effect. Not Karma as some of the Hindu traditions teach, but Karma more in the Buddhist and psychological conditioning sense.

Funny enough this reminds me of some lyrics from a hymn sang at the church I attended growing up.

“So my pain is pain for you.
In your joy is my joy too.”

I think there’s a lot of truth in that outlook.

Perhaps it is not so strange to feel sadness for people I’ve never met who suffered and died in a horrific situation.

Today is Monday. Another small temporal cycle is just beginning. Let us treat each other as we want to be treated.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

