Weekly?

sculpture-1628357_1920

I am back for what has lately been my weekly update here. I don’t like the fact things are working out this way, but it seems Monday is the only day of the week I can get my stuff together to write in this space.

I want to change that, and you will see if I am successful or not.

That said, I’ve been up to a few things over the past week.

I’ve been reading Jeff Vandermeer’s “Wonderbook” which is amazing and inspiring as a text for writers. I don’t even know how to describe it beyond it using visuals along with words to relate ideas about surviving with a creative mind, specifically as a writer. I’ve known about this book’s existence for a while, but oh boy, I did not expect it to be this powerful. I’m still only part of the way through it, but just reading this book makes me want to write.

When it comes to writing advice I prefer the toolbox presentation to the prescription of formulas. Wonderbook has that covered. For now, I give it a thumbs up, but I’m not far into it.

So, I’ve been inspired to work on writing, and have been thinking about how to proceed with the sequel to my first novel, “Hunter and Seed” as this book is still my highest seller and in one of my favorite story universes.

Also, I am editing again! The pillar universe novel is on deck for a comprehensive read-through for the first time. This is my longest novel and has a long way to go because I learned so much over the course of the year it took to write it. I’m adding a couple of scenes at different points, but I can see some others getting cut even though I usually add stuff more than take out when I edit.

Did I mention these antidepressants appear to be working? Also, I really like getting enough sleep. That seems to help too.

Anyway, that’s me checking in. Hopefully, I’ll chat with you all later this week as well.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

