Progress in Action

alaska-63728_1920

Ever since the start of November, I have been writing pretty fast.

I’m back at work on Tenlyres and am almost done writing part two. After that, I’ll edit and begin to serialize the remaining chapters, as well as releasing the ebook on Amazon and the other platforms.

Oh, and I wrote a nice little short story in the Tenlyres world last night. For those of you who have read part one, this story stars the adventurer and thief, Ferdinand Thoss on one of his earlier treasure hunts. I really enjoyed writing it, and though the story is pretty short, I think it does what I wanted it to do. It lightened my mood as I go into a very dark set of events that is approaching at the end of part two.

Also, I think it’s worth mentioning, while I’m on the subject of Tenlyres, that part three (The conclusion of the story) will most likely not be serialized, if only because it will be even longer than part one and part two, a whole novel in its own right. That will come out when I can manage it, probably early next year if I can maintain the pace of this week for a few months.

My current pace is pretty amazing to me, but thanks to a little program called Cold Turkey Writer, which makes it impossible for me to do anything else with my computer until I hit a target wordcount, I have been making rapid progress on the story before me. How rapid? Four thousand words a day has long been my idea of an attainable, if difficult goal. And that’s what I seem to be able to hit in about 3 and 1/2 hours if I do it all in one sitting. I bet I could go faster than that, but so far I’ve been interrupted by something in the middle of all the long sessions.

The short story I polished off from start to finish (In rough draft) last night took a little longer, but it definitely gave me a sense of what I can do from simple prompts and a few notes. It ended up being around 3000 words, but I’m pretty proud I managed to write at night for a change, as I’ve not been doing that much for that past couple years.

What else is there to say? I guess one of the issues with writing the short story, one of the things that slowed me down, was that I was listening to podcasts for the first 2/3 of the process, and they wore me down around a third of the way to my wordcount. So, I took a break for about 30 minutes. Even so, I’m really happy with my experiment and its results.

And writing fast helps me enjoy my process a lot more. Don’t know why I have to shut out practically all distractions before I can make that work, but whatever. It works. And that encourages me to keep at it.

Here’s to moving forward.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

