RPG Making

roll-the-dice-1502706

I have hit my stride over the past couple weeks in designing stuff for this RPG I’ve had on my mind for the last 5 years.

The RPG? A tabletop game based on S. John Ross’ Risus, the Anything RPG.

I call my version of it Risus Hack, but perhaps I should think of a different name because of how much the game has grown from the base I started running as a senior in college.

I think it’s still a simple game, though one with a lot of room for fiddling.

As I get restarted on “Spurring the Beast” (Sequel to last year’s first book, “Hunter and Seed”) I keep having RPGs in the back of my thoughts. That may have something to do with running an RPG podcast every week. And, oh boy. Fans of the Of Mooks and Monsters podcast are in for a treat over the next few weeks.

I have to credit the show with a lot of my recent enthusiasm for games and stories. Turns out, going back to my roots as a game master and player has been good for my brain. Soon, I hope to have a version of Risus Hack available for download. I am not sure if I should charge for it. And if I do charge, how much should I?

I guess I had better get to work.

I’ve put a lot of work into this game. I look forward to sharing it in the near-future.

Thanks for reading.

Tenlyres is still available for Pre-Order. Buy me a cup of coffee and get a full novel in return.

Leave a Reply

