A Challenging Book

 

I just finished reading a very interesting book. It’s called The Brothers Jetstream: Leviathan by ZigZag Claybourne. Some of you may recognize him as the author of a fabulous guest blog post a while back.

I thought this book was really quality entertainment, but at times it was difficult to follow for a few reasons I went into in my review over at amazon and goodreads.

Reviews aside, I liked the book. I also thought it challenged me a little bit, especially with some of the notions I have acquired as a writer.

The first of those notions that The Brothers Jetstream challenged was the assumption of what needs to be dramatized as a scene, as opposed to summarized. Without getting too nuts-and-bolts, I mean that certain types of scenes, especially action scenes received moments of concise summary, in place of length exchanges. I like this part of the book a lot, but it is definitely not something I have done much in the past, within my work. In the future? Probably I will have to try it out.

Second, I think the sheer glut of characters, while it did not bother me, it spiked up the reading difficulty. Just keeping track of all the names could be tough at times. However, I could generally put the name to about 80% of the characters in even the biggest group scenes. All in all, this is more of a quibble than a complaint. And the fact that, given the name and a little dialog I could usually recall large parts of the character’s introduction, I gotta say ZigZag rocks quick characterization.

I’m beginning to run down for the day. I think I’ll leave it here.

Leave a Reply

