Another Stage

I feel as though a long time has passed since I last posted here. In reality, it has been just over a week. However, I know several important things have changed in these past eight days.

First off, I finished a novel I had been working on for over a year.

That alone is an awesome experience, especially given the burst of enthusiasm I found I could put into the story in this final stretch of sixteen-thousand words or so.

The writing of that books’ ending was possible because for the past 10 days, except for this most recent Sunday, I sat down for a couple hours each day and worked. It is bizarre how easy things feel when one can rely on oneself to do the work. For the first time in quite a while, I experienced the sense that my work is important, but also not out of reach.

Aside from the writing?

I’m preparing more episodes of both the podcasts I run. Alive After Reading is still young, but I can tell starting it was a good idea. It’s a fun show and has put me in touch with more writers I always wanted to talk to about themselves and their craft.

That said, the writing is the most important part of the feeling I have right now. The feeling that I have advanced in some way, become a different creature, maybe even a better one.

Why? I’m not entirely certain how much this accounts for, but I definitely feel good about doing the work. I also think I’m more open than in the past, especially on the internet. Some of you blog readers may think I’ve often been pretty open in these posts. I think that’s true. However, lately, my connections to other people through this medium seem stronger because I reach out to them more frequently and more casually.

I enjoy it. And I don’t feel guilty for spending time on social media as long as I have my work in hand. So, this is my progress. It may not sound dramatic in cause. The result, however, feels completely distinct to me.

I hope you too may feel this way more than once in your life, if not as much as possible.

Now, I have work to do.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

