A Few Thoughts about Feeling Good

It’s getting warmer here in Minnesota…

A lot of us will say we’re doing fine. These days, things could be worse, right? Sure.

Fine. Alright. Okay. Whatever. Blah.

These feelings are not what we chase. They’re ruts we get stuck in.

I’ve lived for years as someone who is typically “A little bit down” but with chemical upgrades, better sleep from a CPAP machine, and a bit of improved fitness I’ve upgraded a lot over the past couple years.

Stop getting stuck.

Don’t give up.

Please. You don’t owe that to me or anyone else. Except for yourself.

A dream deferred is a dream denied, as applied by the sunrise movement.

You never know what will happen next. It’s not always easy, maybe not always possible. I thought I’d be miserable consistently forever. Now, with my recent changes in anti-depressant regimen I think my normal state is improving, expanding. In spite of the cold and the pandemic, in my mind, things are getting better and better.

Don’t settle for nothing.

As a writer, these changes are really helping me love my stories and process again.

I write some fairly long books, and I like to get deep into them.

They’re not always pleasant for the characters in them, but if I don’t love what I’m doing I won’t work hard enough. I’m pleased to say that as of today, I’m feeling the power of joy in my fiction.

What’s bringing you down this winter? What joys are holding you up?

Let me know.

And thanks for reading.

If you like epic fantasy, Demon Scroll is just 99 cents at Amazon.com until the middle of the week (February 23rd).

Stay safe, and let me know any ideas you have to stay out of ruts, whether in life, or creativity.

I’ll write again soon.

Tim

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.