Storybundle time!

Hey everyone! I’m pretty excited today, because I’m in a storybundle.com bundle, available right now at www.storybundle.com/steampunk.

Kevin J. Andersen assembled a super-team of books and authors, including little old me. My contribution, Tenlyres, is still one of my best works and there are 12 other books in the bundle, up to and including the novels Kevin wrote with the great Neil Peart of Rush fame (May he rest in peace) .

I can’t say enough good things about the bundle (And my inclusion in it). The bundle is pay what you want, with $15 US required to get every book and not just the first four.

Anyway, this deal is a limited time. I’ll be spreading the word far and wide, naturally. From the date of this posting the bundle has around 30 days left. Click here to get the bundle, share, and enjoy!

Thanks for reading!

Shaking Up the Routine

Hello, folks!

Let me get a couple things out of the way first.

One, I had awesome birthday this year, celebrating with my twin brother in Portland Oregon. I’m home now, and I’m hard at work for both my own books and those I’m creating for my new job.

The podcast is flowing.

Editing my older work a little to bring it up to code is giving me confidence.

I am working with an artist for the cover of Shadow Prince (The next book in the Demon Hunter series), so get ready to see that when the book is ready to launch.

All in all, over the last few weeks I’ve been working (moderately) hard and having some fun.

In short, I’ve been blessed with a phenomenal year so far.

However, it wasn’t until I began a mindset shift this past week that I started to truly understand how well I’m doing.

Mostly I’m trying to look at my process and projects as though they’re new. New concepts and ideas are always exciting for a while, but I remember fondly when I was just learning to write and every technique sang with joy when I put it to work. Every sentence felt like a triumph, no matter how obtuse or terrible.

I am happy to report that this shift in mindset to appreciate my new methods (Such as dictation) as novel is really helping cheer me up and make my days more exciting. Inspiration tends to be a fleeting sensation, but joy is available from other sources on the regular.

Appreciate what you have. I wish I could attribute a quote I remember Mercedes Murdock Yardley shared on a favorite episode of the Archivos Stories podcast a few years ago: “Celebrate every step.”

I’m trying to do that.

Taking a step further. Appreciate every breath.

Every word gained or trimmed.

Every keystroke.

Every moment.

Thanks for reading.

If you want to check out my stories, Amazon.com is currently the easiest place to do so, but I’m also giving a few ebook ARC copies away from Booksprout right now. “Demon Scroll” is up again for a limited time, and my latest re-release, the short story fantasy-thief collection “Dark Work” is also there. Download either of them, both of them, or whatever you like but its first come, first-served so if you have time to read and review check ’em out.

Share and enjoy, folks.

And I’ll write here again soon.

New Year, New Tenlyres

Hi everyone! It’s been too long.

I got a new writing job late last year. Now, I’m working hard on all fronts, recovering from my holiday travels, and prepping work for publication all over.

The first release this year is my epic fantasy novel Tenlyres, a rerelease that’s as good as new. I love the Tenlyres story, so new cover, new focus, and new edits made a great opportunity to relaunch the book. Check it out at the link here. Every share counts and every sale and download is appreciated. You can also get the book in return for a review here. I may have another job right now, but I really want to tell stories for my living so please give my books a shot. I doubt you’ll be disappointed.

Tenlyres is out and Shadow Prince is in the pipe, almost there.

I look forward to sharing more books with you as they come out.

Thanks for reading.

Happy New Year, 2020!

Shadow Prince is going to take more time…

There’s no way for me to sugarcoat this for myself or for you readers.

I am canceling the preorder for Shadow Prince. The book is still too far from being done, primarily due to my awful habit of procrastination on creative work.

I can only offer a sincere apology to everyone who preordered the book.

I’m disappointed in myself for wasting so much time over the last 10 weeks. The story is mostly there, but I don’t know how many more weeks it will take to revise it into a shape I’ll be proud to release.

Thank you for all your support.

And thanks for reading.

Hopefully, I’ll be back with better news soon.

Take care.

November 17, 2019

News of the Day – November 10th 2019



Hey folks. I know, I know. I didn’t get an episode of Alive After Reading recorded this week. It’s been a beast trying to schedule guests on my own each week.

Regardless, expect a return to form soon.

In the meantime, I am hard at work editing Shadow Prince, currently up for preorder at Amazon.com.

I got a new job. The secret kind. I’m looking forward to starting that soon. Sorry, I can’t say more about that.

Last but not least, I have a nice little blog post as a guest up at Kristine Raymond’s Word Play podcast website. Check it out! I always enjoy getting to work or chat with Kristine.

That’s what I got for you this week.

Thanks for reading!



Demon Scroll is Near!

Hi folks. Woah, it has been a bit since I announced the approach of my first full-length epic fantasy novel, over a month.

In that time, I managed to complete the rough draft of the book and am most of the way through the edits as well.

I’m very proud of the book, Demon Scroll, which is up for preorder at a nice low early bird price right now. Launch day is on September 3rd, 2019. The 99 cent price point won’t last long after that, so check it out as soon as you’re able.

Thanks for reading. I will leave you with a link to the book.

Demon Scroll

I’ll be back before launch day.

As always, thanks for reading.

Seachange. Epic Fantasy incoming!

Hello, everybody.

As many of you know, I’ve tried my hand at publishing science fiction this past six months, but before that I published a series of short fantasy novellas. That series was called The Spells of the Curtain, which now has a compilation of the first five books out on amazon.com right now.

That isn’t the main reason, I’m writing, however.

I have a new book I’m working on. This one will truly be epic fantasy, in the vein of Sanderson, Jordan, and Tolkien as well as many others.

I am in the process of creating the new book but it’s already up for preorder on amazon.com. Demon Scroll is the name of the book, but you can’t read it yet. That brings me to the true point of this post.

There is something out there in my new series I’m proud of and you can read right now.

I previously wrote a little story in the same world, featuring a character who will return in Demon Scroll. That little story is called “The Crimson Suitor” and it is available FREE on bookfunnel.com right now!

Here is a link.

Give the story a read, and start getting hyped for the novel, coming September 3rd. The world of these stories is one I love dearly and have been working on for over a decade. The story you can get for free is kinda short, but you’ll be able to get the full-length 500+ page ebook on Amazon.com for just a buck on launch day.

Thanks for reading.

And if you’re a writer, keep writing. You only fail if you give up completely.

Take care of yourselves, folks.